Our Team


Christine Robertson

Executive Director

Christine Robertson works with foundation board,
school district and school board to align and advance fundraising, grant-making and innovation priorities. Christine started her career as a public high school teacher and later went on to serve as a Chief of Staff in the California State Senate and Assembly. In 2013, she co-founded and led the Institute for Advanced Technology & Public Policy at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, a nonprofit multidisciplinary applied research Institute that invested in faculty and student led innovation projects. Christine’s husband is a high school special education teacher and together they have two school-aged children.


Board of Directors

The San Luis Coastal Education Foundation Board of Directors include SLCUSD parents, alumni, current and retired SLCUSD employees, and a diverse array of local community leaders, business owners, and professionals.

a photo of the board of directors for the San Luis Coastal Education Foundation


Erica Flores Baltodano, Esq.
Dave Bernhardt, M.D.
Sam Blakeslee, Ph.D.
Kevin Bumen
Anika Clements
Kelli Cole
Molly Hughes
Kathryn Eisendrath-Rogers, Ph.D.

Alan Iftiniuk
Melissa James
Steven Jobst, M.D.
Rick Mayfield
Kim McGrath
Rosanna Medeiros
David Mitchell
Ryan Pinkerton

Eric Prater, Ed.D.
Jim Quesenberry
Rick Robinett
Elise St. John, Ph.D.
Bill Thoma
Stacey White
Matthew Woods

This foundation was launched in recognition of the growing opportunities and challenges ahead for our students and teachers. Our community is stepping up and declaring our shared commitment to invest in the next generation of civic leaders, inventors, creatives and entrepreneurs.
— Honorable Sam Blakeslee, Ph.D., Chairman of the Board of San Luis Coastal Education Foundation